Are Sour Patch Kids gluten free?

 Dadsfaqs.com is reader-supported. When you purchase through our links we earn a little commission (at no extra cost to you). This helps us to continue the research. As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases. 

Whether it is Halloween season and you’re looking for the perfect delicious treats for the kids, or be it your child’s birthday bash- Sour Patch Kids is there to save the day! These gummy candies come in a variety of original flavors and are definitely on the list of favorite foods for both kids and adults.

However, this chewy candy can be a major concern to some, especially if you’re trying to follow a gluten-free diet due to health issues. So, let’s dig in a bit and get to know whether it’s a gluten-free candy or not as well as its choice as a healthy food diet.

But before we head off to our question regarding these universal favorite candies, allow us to fill you in with knowledge beforehand.

Are Sour Patch Kids gluten free?

Are Sour Patch Kids gluten free?

What really is gluten?

Gluten is a type of protein that is commonly found in grainy food such as wheat, rye, and barley. The main functional aspect of this particular protein is to help such food in maintaining its shape. In simpler words, gluten serves as a glue in order to hold the food together as a whole.

Is gluten bad for our health?

According to National Foundation for Celiac Awareness, for those who suffer from medical conditions like Celiac disease, gluten is supposedly a poison. Intake of gluten-containing ingredients triggers the immune response in the body, thereby damaging the villi (small finger-like projections) on the small intestinal walls. As a result of this inflammation, the small intestine is unable to absorb nutrients into the tissues.  

Dermatitis Herpetiformis (DH) is another well-known form of the Celiac disease that affects the skin instead of the GI tract. Here, the downside of adding gluten to your diet can cause painful bumpy, and itchy rashes. Continuing to disregard a gluten-free label in your diet might lead to further complications including intestinal cancer.  

Nevertheless, for people who face irritable bowel syndrome or those with type 1 diabetes, a gluten-free diet can help in their lifestyle. Besides, restraining yourself from gluten can also promote energy boost as well as help with your digestive system. 

Hence, for patients who require a strict diet for food intolerance especially with celiac disease, maintaining a gluten-free habit can allow you to diet with ease.

sour patch kids

Sour Patch Kids ingredient list

Something that all consumers should never forget is to take a look at the ingredient list. Not only will it help you to avoid components that could set off your allergic reactions, but it’ll also save you countless bucks spent on the wrong products. 

Although there are a bunch of exclusively gluten-free candies in the market, sour patch kids candies have all our attention! The heart wants what it wants, right? So, without further ado let’s continue to our ingredients list.

Consisting of 150 calories per serving, this sour candy is made up of the following-

  • Sugar
  • Invert sugar
  • Corn syrup
  • Corn starch (modified)
  • Tartaric acid (less than 2%)
  • Citric acid
  • Natural and artificial flavoring (Yellow 5. Yellow 6, Red 40, Blue 1)

This takes us to our final answer- Sour Patch Kids contain zero gluten ingredients and can surely make it to our gluten-free Halloween candy list! To clear things up, this sweet candy doesn’t have certified gluten-free labels. However, there are no such gluten-containing ingredients so no worries at all! It can be considered completely safe for those in need of a gluten-free diet.

With this being said, in case you’re wondering if Sour Patch Kids are vegan as well, do remember to drop by here.

Are all varieties on the Gluten-free candy list?

Manufactured by Mondelēz International, Inc., these sour candies are also known among the public as Very Bad Kids in France, and as Maynards Sour Patch Kids in the UK and Canada. Sour Patch Kids has a wide assortment of flavors in candies. These gummy varieties comprise of-

  • Sour Patch Kids Candy Berries, which includes a berry mix to give a sweet punch to the sour flavor.
  • Sour Patch Kids Candy Treat, which consists of 4 different gummy fruit-flavored candy- Cherry, Orange, Lemon, and Lime.
  • Sour Patch Kids Extreme Sour Soft & Chewy Candy made for those who like the sour flavor of candy a bit too much!
  • Sour Patch Kids Light Ice Cream & Sorbet is specially manufactured for an ice cream lover. However, it does contain dairy ingredients so avoid it if you’re looking for a gluten-free dairy-free diet. 
  • Sour Patch Kids Just Blue Raspberry containing rich flavors of blue raspberry and the best candy to parties. 
  • Sour Patch Watermelon Candy comprises a soothing summery flavor of watermelon versions. 
  • Big Sour Patch Kids Candy which is the ultimate bomb! If you’re a gummy candy fan, bigger pieces of your favorite candy products are exactly what you dream of, right?
  • Sour Patch Kids- Sour Cherry Blasters- This cherry variety is literally a cherry on top.

Now comes the more important part- What do the package labels say? These are chewy gluten-free treats as well! Hence, without any added confusion, you can go ahead and add this to your gluten-free diet right away.

Pro Tip for Health Awareness

Even though these sour candies might look too appetizing, try to avoid eating too much. Consuming a lot of these gluten-free gummy candies may sound fun but can also cause health complications as it contains a combination of citric acid and tartaric acid.

Since we have already cleared out all remaining confusion regarding this candy option, don’t forget to add these unwrapped minis to your shopping cart. Along with a mouth-watering delicacy, this will also maintain a balanced calorie diet for both you and your kids. So, go ahead and stock some up for yourself and gift some to your favorite people to make their day!

Leave a Comment